Seeking Omaha Media for Thesis Research

I am a graduate student in the School of Communication at the University of Nebraska at Omaha. I am in the research phase of my thesis, titled “Stories, Stresses, and Strains: What Working Media Experience When Covering Human Tragedy.”

For my thesis I am seeking face-to-face interviews with members of Omaha’s working media who have covered a story (or stories) involving human tragedy. Recent examples include – but certainly are not limited to – the 2007 Von Maur shootings, the 2011 Millard South High School shootings; and those stories on a smaller scale, such as house fires, vehicle crashes, or tornadoes.

If you fit this description and are interested in participating in my research project, please contact me directly. Through the use of pseudonyms, your identity will remain completely confidential in my thesis. I anticipate the interviews running between thirty minutes and one hour at a location chosen by the research participant. These locations could include the research participant’s home, their place of work, or a coffee shop in Omaha.

If you have any follow up questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at your convenience: wendy@wendytownley.com

2 thoughts on “Seeking Omaha Media for Thesis Research

What are you thinking?

