First FM, Now AM

Let me begin by saying the past several months have been nothing short of a whirlwind with regard to the buzz surrounding Nerdy Thirty. As the book became reality, I knew I wanted friends and family to read it and enjoy it. If a few business associates and contacts on Facebook and Twitter picked up the book, all the better. But what has happened since the book’s publication back in May has been nothing short of surprising, overwhelming, and tremendously humbling. The release of Nerdy Thirty opened many doors for me, including speaking engagements, regular writing gigs, and a bi-weekly appearance on The Pat and JT Show every other Friday morning on Q98-Five. (Talk about fun!)

My boyfriend, Matt, has worked in radio for as long as we have been together, and I’ve admired his work from afar. What peeks I’ve received on the periphery have been intriguing, and I count myself lucky to be with someone so creative and entertaining. Matt has given me many pointers – whether he has known it or not – about how to be engaging while on the air. I think I’m a better on-air personality on Q98-Five due in large part to Matt, which leads me to this very exciting announcement.

Saturday, October 9 will mark my debut as a co-host on The Weekly Grind, a weekly radio program for Omaha’s young professionals. The Weekly Grind airs at 10 a.m. Saturdays on KOIL (1180 AM) in Omaha, and is streamed online. The hour-long program has been on the air for more than year now, and is the brainchild of hosts Mike Shearer and Bryan Mohr. The Weekly Grind was my very first radio interview in early May when Nerdy Thirty rolled off the presses.

Recent staff changes created an opening on The Weekly Grind, and I’m delighted to be the show’s first female co-host. The Weekly Grind will continue to discuss topics impacting Omaha’s thriving young professional community. I’m excited to interview a variety of guests in the coming weeks and weigh-in on local issues that matter to the city’s young professionals, of which, at 31, I’m proud to be a member.

I hope you’ll tune in every now and again, and even call the show when you have something to say. The Weekly Grind will continue the conversation on Twitter and Facebook, too. And I would be remiss if I didn’t encourage you to suggest topics or guests for the show. Send me a email (wendy@wendytownley.com) with your ideas. The show is only as good as the content we produce and the audience we reach.

I can’t thank Mike and Bryan enough for this exciting opportunity. Since starting my gig on Q98-Five, I have found a home on the air that feels quite comfortable and natural. Having another creative outlet on the radio will only help refine my skills, and may even provide fodder for more essays. Rest assured, I will never stop writing, regardless of how many new opportunities come my way.

To everyone who has been so supportive during the past few months, I thank you. The encouragement and well wishes have been greatly appreciated and have made the experience of publishing my first book all the more gratifying and worthwhile.

And now, on with the show!

What are you thinking?

