A Little of This, A Little of That

I spend an inordinate amount of time surfing and skipping about the World Wide Web. Quite often — almost to the point of compulsion, to be honest — I post cool links and unique stories to my Facebook and Twitter pages. I consider these slick interfaces public bulletin boards for all the world to harvest and enjoy.

But why should my fellow social media whores have all the fun?

Here are links to amusing content I’ve recently collected.

Have fun!

Bad Banana on Twitter
PC World ranked this Lincoln, Nebraska-based copywriter the second-funniest person on Twitter today. Take that, Colbert.
http://twitter.com/badbanana

flowers2mail
There’s no question that real flowers are a delight to send and even more enjoyable to receive. But they’re expensive. And they eventually die. Why not send flowers that last forever?
www.flowers2mail.com

The Ministry of Type
It’s a blog designed to feed the cocaine-like addiction we have to typography. Plus, it’s based in the UK so you know it just has to be cool.
http://ministryoftype.co.uk/

Twitter Patterns
There’s absolutely no reason for your Twitter background to exclusively use the default designs. Fancy it up and enjoy.
http://twitterpatterns.com

Design*Sponge
I know, I know. Design*Sponge is nothing new. Yet the calming and colorful photographs and ideas offer me just the right amount of delusion to think I could actually be crafty someday. Here’s hoping.
www.designspongeonline.com

Bored to Death
I love HBO. I love writing. I love reading. I love Zach Galifianakis. I love Jason Schwartzman, and his mole. And because of this, I’m (starting) to love Sunday nights.
www.hbo.com/boredtodeath

Food Network Humor on Twitter
Become a fan if only for this recent tweet: “Gourmet [magazine] is closed yet Sandra Lee is in a kitchen somewhere putting Cool Whip on a pot roast. What the hell is going on?”
http://twitter.com/FNHumor

Wishful Drinking by Carrie Fisher
The cover art alone was enough for me to purchase her new memoir. Her hilarious approach to tragedy, along with her stories about being married to Paul Simon, kept me turning the pages. I also learned that, according to George Lucas, underwear does not exist in space. Who knew?
http://carriefisher.com/?p=14

# # #

What are you thinking?

