Yes, Soup Is A Meal

Today was a banner day for me. You see, I’m a bit of a screw-up in the kitchen. I avoid preparing meals (anything short of warming up food already “made” by a faceless corporation, you see) at all costs.

Today that changed.

I was craving my sister’s chicken noodle soup, which she made from scratch the last time she was in town.

This afternoon I placed the phone call that, quite literally, changed my life. I called Katie for the recipe, and then went to the grocery store to purchase the necessary ingredients.

A few hours later, my soup was ready to be served. (Townley, party of one.)

I was equal parts elated and ecstatic as I slurped away the flavorful broth and chewed the tender vegetables, chunks of chicken and extra-wide egg noodles.

I was so pleased at my culinary achievement that I took this photo, to prove that I had, in fact, prepared a meal in the kitchen that didn’t end up disastrous.

I can’t wait for leftovers.

# # #

4 thoughts on “Yes, Soup Is A Meal

What are you thinking?

