Maw Means ‘Grandma’ In Polish

My Maw, Dorothy Townley.

TOWNLEY-Dorothy, age 82, of Omaha. Preceded in death by husband, William. Survived by daughter and son-in-law, Diann and Merv Vannier, of Omaha; son, Dave, of Omaha; daughters-in-law, Robin A. Townley, of Denver and Mary Townley, of Omaha; 4 grandchildren; 1 great-grandson; brother, Ronald Klusaw and wife Karen of Beaver Lake; sister-in-law, Cherry Kluza, Co. Bluffs, IA. WAKE SERVICE Wed 7pm, Vinton St/ Chapel. FUNERAL Thurs 9:30am at the mortuary to Our Lady of Lourdes at 10am. Interment St. John Cemetery. Memorials to Our Lady of Lourdes Church. VISITATION begins Wed 3pm. HEAFEY-HEAFEY-HOFFMANN DWORAK-CUTLER
VINTON ST. CHAPEL 2466 S. 16th St. 346-1144

8 thoughts on “Maw Means ‘Grandma’ In Polish

    • I know what you mean. I thought of this Saturday at the hospital. I heard a piece on NPR a few years ago about how all the great names of the ’20s, ’30s and ’40s — like Dorothy — were going away, only to be replaced with names like Eva, Emma, Mia, Emily.

  1. I’m sorry to hear about this. Know you’re in my thoughts. I didn’t know you were Polish too. I have a Maw too and she’s the same age as your Maw. I have a feeling that my Maw knew your Maw since they both grew up in South O. Did she attend South High in the 40s?

  2. hello there

    I bet she was one of the most fabulous ladies there were. She can now entertain for the rest and best of them. Love you.

    Jimbo.

    • Re: hello there

      Oh, Jimmy. Your comment brought me to tears. My grandma was one of the best entertainers and hostesses out there. Whenever she had us over for dinner, or threw a party for 50 people, everything was just so. My mom says she learned how to cook from her mom (my other grandma), but she learned how to entertain from Maw.

What are you thinking?

