Such Small Joy

For a mere 99 cents, I can purchase a delicious chocolate chip cookie from Whole Foods. It comes in its own, small, branded bag that fits perfectly inside my handbag and travels well with me back to work.

And most days when I buy one, I’m feeling so good I let the cashier keep the penny.

I know. I’m so very considerate.

An aside about Whole Foods: This morning at work, one of my co-workers referred to Whole Foods as “Whole Paycheck,” because the goods here are so dang expensive.

And I thought those who go organic do so on the cheap.

Doesn’t matter, though. I still Whole Foods.

5 thoughts on “Such Small Joy

  1. I miss Whole Foods. That’s one downside of living in a non-metro area. Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods are a couple of hours away. I keep thinking that I’ll make the trip just to do some shopping, but I can find most of what I’m looking for. It’s just not in as cool an atmosphere.

    Completely off topic, I might be bugging you (via e-mail) in the near future. I mentioned it in my LJ, but a local magazine approached me about writing an article for them and is probably going to be using me more in the future (I think I’m a pretty fair writer, but compared to them I’m a supergenius of wordstuffs). I think I mentioned to you before that I was kicking around the idea of doing some freelance writing and before I could try, the opportunity came to me. I want to pick your brain a little bit, but I’m still not sure what I want to ask.

    It would be so much easier if you lived here because then we could get drunk, sleep together and I’d learn everything you know through osmosis. ;-)

    How’s the new job going, by the way?

    • I find myself having lunch at Whole Foods twice a week. It’s awesome! I’ve only been to Trader Joe’s in Chicago, but loved it. I visited a Henry’s Marketplace in California — which I’m told is owned by Wild Oats — and loved it, as well.

      Of course I can help with the article. Just e me at home: wendy@wendytownley.com

      I’m actually in charge of redesigning the new Cox internal newsletter. It needs a facelift and I’d love to pick your brain, as well.

      Tit for tat, as they say.

      Well, maybe not (my) tit for (your) tat, but you get the idea.

      :-)

      • If I have time to think about it, I’ll drop you a line this weekend. It’s not about the article itself, the writing is the easy part for me. My questions are more on the business end of things. Honestly, though, I’m not even sure what my questions are. I need to find an hour or two to write about writing before I can even figure out what I want to ask. :-)

        Anytime you want to talk about the newsletter, don’t hesitate to drop me an e-mail. You still have my addy?

        >> maybe not (my) tit for (your) tat, but you get the idea

        Damn…and I thought things were just about to get interesting. Then again…you only said maybe. ;-)

      • Sure thing; send me an email and I’ll be glad to help.

        I sent you an email on Friday from my work addy about the newsletter project I’m working on.

      • Funny…I was just responding to your post and about to respond to that e-mail.

        Great minds really do think alike. Or, at the very least, they wake up earlier than everybody else on a Saturday.

What are you thinking?

