it’s been one week since you looked at me

I must be trying to set a record of the greatest time between updates. Eight days certainly comes close, wouldn’t you say?

Since come back into town from my business trip, I have been going non-stop. Not only is my full-time job keeping me busy; I’m picking up more freelance work than ever before. I’m being assigned more stories than when I worked at the Bellevue Leader. I’m certainly not complaining, merely observing. More freelance work means more exposure and more money. Gotta love that.

I saw “Cinderella Man” last night with Matthew and his sister. Despite the film being a bit too brutal for my taste (yes, I know it’s a boxing movie), I thought it was excellent. The characters are fantastic and their stories immediately draw you in. Much of the film is set during the Great Depression. Quite the coincidence, as I just started reading “The Grapes of Wrath” by John Steinbeck.

I have a number of freelance projects that I absolutely must wrap up this weekend. Wish me luck.

In the spirit of the Deep Throat news, Matthew and I are watching “All the President’s Men,” which I’ve owned on DVD for years. Great movie!

5 thoughts on “it’s been one week since you looked at me

  1. Grapes and Steinbeck

    Hey, it’s Tim over at UNO. When Christine used to teach Grapes, she had her students create “Dustbowl Haiku.” The book is big; haikus are short. You end up with things like —

    Turtle crosses road
    Joad heavy truck rolls westward
    reptile slow to . . . splat.

    Grapes is a great book. Of Mice and Men? Probably a perfect book in the same way Gatsby is achingly thought out and a complete from beginning to end.

    • Re: Grapes and Steinbeck

      I love haikus! I’ve owned the book since last year, but didn’t have the urge to crack its cover until this week. I’ve forgotten how detailed Steinbeck is as an author. Good stuff.

What are you thinking?

