the new job

In the simplest of descriptions, my first day at the new job literally flew by in a blur. After setting up my email account, voicemail, insurance and other random paperwork, I wrote a press release, edited a brochure and pitched a story idea to a number of local media.

I didn’t have much time to organize my office, but that will come in time, I’m sure. I have two windows in my office, which means plenty of space for plants and photos :-) I need a bulletin board to hang messages and the like. I also have significant wall space that needs art. That will take some time. I still don’t have a dominant piece of art to hang in my living room — and I’ve lived in this house for two years!

The staff (there’s only seven of us in all) took me to lunch at Charlie’s on the Lake, where I had grilled salmon and rice pilaf. Delicious!

By the time 5 o’clock rolled around, I was ready to call it a day. The work is certainly challenging, and something definitely different. But I think it’s something I’ll come to enjoy, especially that I’m able to work independently.

And for my sweet friend Molly, I wore a pair of gray slacks from Banana Republic with black heels and a black sweater. Simple, but I feel as though I fit right in.

What are you thinking?

